Home Cricket South Africa bat first in 47-over contest, Linde debuts

South Africa bat first in 47-over contest, Linde debuts


Heinrich Klaasen stumps Dhananjaya de Silva off Keshav Maharaj © Ishara S.Kodikara/AFP/Getty Images

South Africa chose to bat vs Sri Lanka

Keshav Maharaj, in his first match as stand-in skipper, called correctly at the toss and asked Sri Lanka to chase in the second ODI. The match has been reduced to 47 overs a side after a 90-minute rain delay. It is also a must-win for the visitors, who went 1-nil down on Thursday after failing to chase 301.

South Africa are without Temba Bavuma, who broke his thumb in the first ODI, and have installed Reeza Hendricks at No.3. They left out Kyle Verreynne for seam-bowling allrounder Wiaan Mulder and included all three spin options at their disposal. Spin-bowling allrounder George Linde was handed a debut as he replaces Anrich Nortje, with Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi both in the XI. South Africa also have three allrounders in the team in Mulder, Linde and Andile Phehlukwayo.

Sri Lanka, after a good all-round performance in the series opener, are unchanged.

Sri Lanka: 1 Avishka Fernando, 2 Minod Bhanuka (wk), 3 Bhanuka Rajapaksa, 4 Dhananjaya de Silva, 5 Charith Asalanka, 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt.), 7 Wanindu Hasaranga, 8 Chamika Karunaratne, 9 Akila Dananjaya, 10 Dushmantha Chameera, 11 Praveen Jayawickrama

South Africa: 1 Janneman Malan, 2 Aiden Markram, 3 Reeza Hendricks, 4 Rassie van der Dussen, 5 Wiaan Mulder, 6 Heinrich Klaasen (wk), 7 Andile Phehlukwayo, 8 George Linde, 9 Keshav Maharaj (capt) 10 Kagiso Rabada, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source link

Previous articleTS EAMCET Counselling Schedule Revised, Check New Dates for Allotment of Seats
Next article“Justice Delayed Is Justice Denied”: Law Minister On Pending Court Cases


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here